Wynonna Earp, and other stuff!

First up, sorry for the lack of updates in the last two months since Auto Assembly – I have been busy! Well, not just busy, but I’ll get on to that. All in good time…

So work-wise, what have I been busy with? In September, I was approached by industry leg-end Mike Collins to assist with colours on a Doctor Who graphic novel for the BBC, called “The Only Good Dalek…”. I ended up contributing about twenty pages to the final product, doing my best to match my style to the existing colours, and I was pretty happy with the results. As it got down to the wire, I was happy to be able to help get some work for fellow colourist John-Paul Bove, who also helped us meet deadline. Saw the final book in Smiths a few week back, and it turned out great, I can recommend it to all and sundry! Here’s a link to the book on Amazon…. ‘ave a shufty.

After that, Mike also enlisted me to help colour some art he was producing for an historical display at Caerphilly Castle. A really fun project, and nice to try and colour stuff in a more ‘painterly’ medieval style. The final artwork ended up being projected onto the sides of the castle walls, which looked awesome, but unfortunately the deadline I was under for the following project meant I couldn’t make it to the actual display in person. Doh! Here’s some BBC coverage of the event…

Near the beginning of September I was approached by IDW Publishing to provide colours for an original graphic novel written by Beau Smith and drawn by Enrique Villagran, called Wynonna Earp: The Yeti Wars. This is a creator-owned property of Beau’s, and I was chuffed to be able to contribute to it. The deadline of this project was particularly punishing, as it entailed colouring 89 pages in just over a month, which I’d never done before. I wasn’t sure I could do it, but by the same token I wasn’t sure I couldn’t do it, so I just knuckled down and got it done. And it worked! Result. 🙂 I was pretty happy with the pages overall, there’s a lack of polish on it (understandably, given the frenetic colouring pace of the project), but generally speaking, I’m pleased with the result. It seems the rest of the creatives on board are happy too, so that’s a plus! Definitely a better experience than what happened on Transformers: Nefarious, so I feel I’ve put those ghosts to rest at last.  Here’s a link to pre-order it, if you’re so inclined, I highly recommend it, it’s a super-fun romp!

So work-wise, that’s what I’ve been up to of late, and the punishing deadline of the last project is a big part of my lack of updates lately…. and here’s the other reason for the delays…

As most people who read this know, I work full-time in a call centre for a large multinational company who I’d better not name. A lot of my calls are complaint calls (specifically about Payment Protection Insurance – in the interest of impartiality, here’s a Wikipedia explanation of what it is – I’m not going to make known my feelings on it here), and after two years of these complaints, I couldn’t take it anymore and had a nervous breakdown. There’s more to it than that, but quite frankly I’m trying not to think about it too much otherwise it’ll not help things. I’ve been signed off work for a month, and have started counselling sessions before I go back, but the only good thing to come out of it is that it gave me time to concentrate on the colouring work, which was blissful. I just wish I had enough freelance work coming in on a constant basis to justify going freelance full time. *sigh* Hopefully one day… one day…

Leave a Reply

