Carter’s Inane Reviews #5

This week I’ll be reviewing Sunday’s lie in.

On a normal weekday, my alarm goes off at 6:30, and I’ll generally haul my sleepy carcass out of bed around 6:45 to 7:00. With the weekend of course comes a chance to embrace a bit of relaxation. The Sunday lie-in started bang on the button at 6:30am, with no alarm sounding because it was a Sunday. I slept solidly through the normal 6:45 – 7:00am rouse window with no trouble, and carried on experiencing what was fast becoming a very odd (if somewhat boring) dream involving myself, Ceri, and Maria Parker ambling around a posh hotel before ending up loitering uncomfortably at the stand up urinals that were located out in the open in the middle of the hotel lobby.

The 7:00am to 10:00am stretch was largely uneventful, apart from a brief surface to use the facilities (as I daren’t use the stand up urinals in my dream for fear of causing a serious mess), at which point I returned to bed. The previous day had begun with me getting out of bed to start the day at approximately this time – I was relieved to be able to turn back in at this point.

The next two hours were spent in blissful slumber, disturbed only briefly by the cats plaintive wails to be fed, which were easily ignored on account of me being in a pretty heavy sleep. At approximately 12:20, with the afternoon now freshly underway, I had to get up and get dressed in order to make it to my grandparents house for dinner at 13:00. I hurriedly dressed, fed the now-increasingly-pissed-off cats, and drove up the Valleys.

All in all, clocking in at just under 6 hours, I was impressed with the lie-in. Devoting almost a quarter of the day to sleeping on top of the nights sleep itself was a satisfying endeavour, and one I hope to repeat for many Sundays to come.

9/10

2 thoughts on “Carter’s Inane Reviews #5

  1. This was an ok review at best. I feel it lacks the in-depth analysis of which we have been blessed in previous reviews.
    All in all though, this is indeed passable and therefore gets a 6/10 from me.

Leave a Reply

