All This And Sonic 2.

My recent bout with pneumonia had an unexpected little benefit – the chance to spend some time in my hospital bed playing Sonic The Hedgehog 2 on my iPhone.

22 years ago (*sob*) Sonic 2 was one of the few games that I spent any decent amount of time on, on my old Mega Drive. It was even more of a rarity in that I actually completed the game, and with ALL the Emeralds and everything. To this day I find myself humming the tunes to various stages, and alarmingly, I can remember a helluva lot of the level layouts and ring locations. Hell, I know the sound test cheat numbers more completely than I do my wife’s mobile number. THAT’S idiotic dedication there.

I’d downloaded Sonic 2 for the Wii a few years back, but for some reason the emulation on my console was dreadful, with jerky scrolling that rendered it unplayable. I tried re-downloading, reporting it, etc, but nothing fixed it. No-one online seemed to be having issues with it either, so I just said ‘fuck it’ and downloaded it for my Genesis Plus emulator for my Mac instead, and enjoyed the nostalgia.

So I was pleasantly surprised to find the iPhone version to be an all new build of the game, and not an emulation – any worries I had about this were swiftly allayed by the fact that the hardcore coding Sonic fans had been given the official nod from SEGA to make the game, and they went overboard with the awesome! It runs at a gorgeous 60 frames per second, it’s been properly formatted as widescreen, the finicky fucking touchpad controls are about as good as you can get (practice helps!), and there’s a whole load of extra stuff! You can use Tails’ flying skills from Sonic 3! You can play as Knuckles from Sonic & Knuckles! The abandoned Hidden Palace Zone has been reinstated! The special stages are now rendered in silky smooth proper 3D! The sound is spot on! I could go on, but I’d bore you.

My word, it’s a thing of beauty. Cost me less than £2. Perfect.

Anyways, for some more in depth chatter on this game, check out http://info.sonicretro.org/Sonic_the_Hedgehog_2_(2013_game) , and you can download it from the App Store. I hugely recommend it, it’s like nostalgia, but NEW.

RUUUUUUN!!

Leave a Reply

